Young Vic
Originally uploaded by Lilly

It was a perfect weather weekend for Open House London 2007. I was looking forward to the event and planning my days using their Google Map enabled search tool. 600 places for just 2 days! Some places are open for only one day and some popular places require pre-booking. Obviously I had to give up many of my first choices.

I have used Google My Map to organize my Sunday. Since the wordpress.com does not allow to embed the map yet, check my Sunday plan if you are interested.

On Saturday afternoon I drove down to Richmod area to visit Ham House, one of the most haunted 17th-century houses in Britain. Before that I had a delicious home-made cake and tea at Petersham Nurseries Teahouse. The stunning photos at their website led me to Nordljus, a talented Japanese food blogger Keiko Oikawa’s blog. I thought she was a professional photographer.

On Sunday, I got up a bit early and went down to London by train. I visited City Hall first to avoid queuing. Views from rooftop were a great start of the day. I really liked the famous spiral staircase and I thought I would use it every day if I worked there. The next planned visit was the Bank of England, but as I feared there was a long queue and I skipped it this time. After having visited Bartholomew’s Hospital, I came across a shooting some 80’s or 70’s scene on Old Bailey on the way to the next place. In my original schedule, I did not plan to visit 101 Victoria Embankment, but because I skipped the Bank of England and Middle Temple Hall was not open until 1pm, I just popped in the building. Then I was surprised by free refreshment, a bottle of iced tea and an ice cream! My last visit was Haworth TompkinsYoung Vic Theatre, which was shortlisted for RIBA Stirling Prize 2007. I really enjoyed the guided tour and they even allowed the visitors to get up on the slightly sloped stage in the auditorium.

I have uploaded selected photos to my Flickr.

I just thought it would have been more fun with iPod Touch and free Wi-Fi in London.

Finally I would like to thank to the organizer and volunteers for the fantastic event.

