I like Tumblr. So I have created mine. I never heard of Wikipediatumblelog before.

If blogs are journals, tumblelogs are scrapbooks. You can also look at tumblelogs as slightly more structured blogs that make it easier, faster, and more fun to post and share stuff you find or create.

I have been posting “10 things“, a kind of linkblogs, inspired by BBC’s, for some time and using Google’s Notebook to keep notes for the posts. I think they are different. I will keep posting the 10 things while experimenting Tumblr.

Some functionality has been intentionally skipped to make Tumblr as simple as possible to use.

I like its simplicity. Some people are asking for comments, but I don’t think Tumblr need them. It’s more like a personal ‘River of News‘. The feeds import feature reminds me of Emily Chang‘s My Data Stream. With Tumblr you can add ad hoc posts to the stream.

It would be graceful if it had a favicon (it has a nice logo) and adapted OpenID (I had to create another login).

My small concern is that it copied a Flickr’s photo when I posted one using the bookmarklet. I think it’s best to implement the WikipediaMetaWeblog so that I can use Flickr’s “blog this” feature. I am thinking to add my favourite photos to the river as Flickr do not have RSS feed for them.

[via lifehacker]

